By name, A-Z By Birth Date, 53 B.C.- By Contribution

Honors and Awards
D. RALPH MILLARD, JR., M.D., F.A.C.S., Hon. F.R.C.S., Ed.

First Prize, Senior Division, 1965 International Scholastic Contest of the Education Foundation of the American Society of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgeons, for "Total Reconstructive Rhinoplasty and a Missing Link".

Medal, Komenius University of Bratislava, Czecholovakia, 1965, for "Contributions in the Field of Plastic Surgery".

First Prize, Senior Division, 1968 International Scholastic Contest of the Education Foundation of the American Society of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgeons, for "Free Skin Grafting of Full-Thickness Defects of Abdominal Wall".  (Co-Authors: R. Pigott, F.R.C.S. and P. Zies, M.D.).

The First Annual Herbert Lipshutz Memorial Prize, awarded by Heter-Schulte Corporation in 1976 for "Breast Reconstruction Following Radical Mastectomy".

The R. R. Hawkins Award, presented in its inaugural year by The American Publishing Association, for Cleft Craft: The Evolution of its Surgery, Volume I, for excellence in books in the category of Medicine, Technology and Science, 1976.

The National Honor Decoration, Order of Distinction, of the Government of Jamaica, presented by the Governor-General of Jamaica, October, 1976.

The Asheville Award of the Asheville School for Boys, Asheville, North Carolina, May 27, 1979.

The Florida Cleft Palate Honors Award, presented by the Florida Cleft Palate Association for "Distinguished Contributions to Cleft Palate Habilitation", January, 1979.

Nominated and Accepted to Wisdom Hall of Fame, the Wisdom Society for the Advancement of Knowledge and Research in Education, Beverly Hills, California, December, 1979.

Honorary Award of the American Association of Plastic Surgeons , Presented at Williamsburg, Virginia, May, 1981.

State of Indiana - The Sagamore of the Wabash is State's highest award. "Sagamore were the wise men of the tribe when Indians lived in Indiana", Indiana Governor Robert Orr said, June 18, 1982.

Men & Women of Distinction, Diploma of Distinction - Roll of Honour. the International Biographical Centre, Cambridge, England, June, 1979.

Physician's Recognition Award of the American Medical Assoc., Rhinoplasty: A State of the Art Symposium, Nov. 14-17, 1984, Manhattan Eye, Ear & Throat Hospital and N.Y. University Medical Center.

Honors Award given by American Cleft Palate Association, 1985 at American Cleft Palate Association meeting in Miami, Florida, May 10-16, 1985.

Reed O. Dingman Society Membership Award, Oct. 11, 1985.

1985 Spirit of Excellence - one of 21 finalists chosen by the Miami Herald for outstanding men and women statewide, out of 500 contestants.

Honorary Fellowship of the Royal College of Surgeons, Edenburgh, Scotland, June, 1986.

Named Physician of the Year by the Dade County Medical Association on September 2, 1986.

1986 Spirit of Excellence. Chosen on of six winners. Sponsored by the Miami Herald, Sept. 9, 1986 at the Omni Hotel Ballroom, Miami, Florida.

1987 Nominated for the Pulitzer Prize for "Principlization of Plastic Surgery".

1988 made Honorary member of the Japan Society of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, April 6, Tokyo, Japan.

Honorary medal from the People's Republic of China for "his monumental achievements in cleft lip repair which has opened a new era of cleft lip surgery".  Beijing, 1988.

Presented by the American Society of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgeons, the Society's highest award in recognition of his development of the specialty of plastic surgery and his outstanding scientific contributions to the advancement of its practice".  Toronto, Canada, 1988.

Honorary Membership in the British Association of Plastic Surgeons, London, 1989.

Honorary Fellowship in the Royal College of Surgeons, London, July, 1990.

Distinguished Faculty Scholar Award of the University of Miami, April, 1991. Wilder Auditorium, James L. Knights Physics Building.

In a book 50 years from 1941, 1991, about the Class of 1941, there is a small section entitled: "Making a Difference."  A biography of Millard was included along with seven others, from Yale University.

Bronze Bust placed in the Miami Children's Hospital International Hall of Fame, November 2, 1991.

Received the Johnson Frederich Dieffenbach award in the Sauerbruch Auditorium of the Humboldt University of Berlin February 2, 1992.

Medal of Honor bestowed by the National Society of Daughters of the American Revolution, February 15, 1996.

Nominated as one of only 10 Plastic Surgeons of the Millennium by the American Society of Plastic Surgery, April, 2000.

©2009 University of Miami Leonard M. Miller School of Medicine. All Rights Reserved.